A Childhood Fantasy

snow-overhand-from-second-floor-window

When the snow finally stopped, I decided to venture outside. I donned my puffed jacket – a Christmas present – slid on my wellies and clad my hands in mittens, then endeavoured to step into the bank. The snow sat a good seven feet tall and upon opening the front door I realized that anything short of a bulldozer would be a waste of time.

A sea of white, an ocean of opportunity.

I closed the door, ran upstairs to the front bedroom and opened the window. A two storey house, it looked over a small garden, or rather it usually did. The roses were somewhere in there, shivering. I pushed the window further open, as wide as its frame would allow and teased a leg with the cold. The welly dangled and soon the second joined it.

I sat there and contemplated a childhood fantasy.

Rocking back and forth – the window frame encouraging my removal, I jumped, dropping heavily through the misted air and landing with a star-shaped poof. My fall cushioned, my jeans filled with snow and my wellies lost ‘til the thaw.

I laughed the giggles of a four year old and then I laughed some more. Had anyone been capable of passing, they would surely have heard a disturbing sound, rising from a somewhere.

My gaze lingered on the blue sky above, dotted with heavy white clouds, aching to fall as I had. I struggled to my feet, entrenched.

Despite my relative geography, I was lost and now the snow would surely come, as would the overhanging drift that clung to the roof and threatened an imminent attack.

One thought on “A Childhood Fantasy

Leave a Reply

